I am playing in a master class tomorrow. It was just announced last week, so I’ve known for a full week now. I am not so worried that it won’t go well, I just find it sort of bothersome, as I would rather practice more relevant things than old etudes…of course considering such old etudes can show up on my jury I guess this is possibly relevant.

Of course, my motivation for practicing is about nil right now…I have a lot of different stuff to work with, and prioritizing with the limited amount of time I have to practice (or the limited amount of time my mouth has for practicing) is pretty tough. I wish my days weren’t scheduled in such inanimate blocks. I should have fewer classes or something and space it all out.

Either that or not enjoy being outside of the music building so much. If I really liked being in there, in those dark and disagreeable rooms, that would be motivation enough. It’s that time of year when the weather improves more and more and the practice rooms get hotter, smellier, and retain humidity more. People should not be allowed to wear cologne or perfume for this reason…these small rooms trap their scent and we wind players are forced to take in exorbitant amounts of it.

But music theory homework has to be finished for tomorrow, so I’ll stop.

I’m currently knitting several things: a blanket for the preemie project, a test swatch of wool for felting (probably enough for a small clutch), a bandage for another volunteer thing (which is really cool…I could probably try to find a link to put on here), and probably a few other things at home…

Leave a Reply

