am I doing all I can?

A friend of mine has mentioned this question in regards to missions (and getting to the destination), but seeing as we, as followers of Christ, are missionaries wherever we are, I am led to ask this question of myself.  I say that I want to follow God.  I ask Him to guide my decisions and my place in life; I want to live in such a way that is pleasing to Him and glorifying to Him.  But am I doing everything I can to seek Him?  I know I don’t need to do anything, in fact I couldn’t possibly do enough to earn my place in heaven because it is a gift given freely, but in regards to my response I know I am lacking.  1 Thessalonians 5:17?  Nope.  I don’t pray without ceasing.

This is difficult to explain.  I think the way I spend my free time is most indicative of laziness.  I might knit, cruise the internet, dawdle in a book or baking, or carry on in an purposeless activity like sifting through piles of memories in boxes.  My quiet time is regular, but what if I traded in the ‘book for the Book?

My temporary plan of action to regain discipline in the Word and memorization is to spend longer doing it.  I’ll try praying the firsts again, too.  What a neat thing that is.  I also need to pray for a deeper attachment to the Lord and a need for his Heart and His Word.

student teaching is rocking so far.  7 weeks left here.  whoa.

Leave a Reply

