noises

Getting used to a house’s noises requires time.  On Thursday night I thought I heard something or someone in the garage while I was working on lesson plans in the kitchen, so I locked the door (rather than risking a peek).  That ended up locking my dad out of the house the next day (sorry!).  Tonight there are a plethora of strange sounds coming from the living room.  It’s an older house, so understandable, but hard to be at total peace.

I went to mass tonight and the gospel text was 4 verses from Mark 1:12-15.  It was really short, of course, but I thought the priest had a nugget worth pursuing.  He talked about, for a few seconds at most, being the gospel in this world.  He then told some stories about doing good deeds, encouraging parishoners to keep a journal of good deeds for every day as a way to remember to do them.  He even had 2 points of application for the text, but they gelled into one…doing nice things, small things, better things, for others.

I can see the merit in keeping a list of good deeds for a small amount of time, I suppose.  He added the disclaimer of it being “not for the sake of pride” but “as a reminder to do more deeds.”

And I also reflect on a talk given by a guest at Salt this past week.  He suggested that belonging to the Kingdom of God was not simply for the dying and going to heaven part, but the Life that has the fullness of Christ in it the minute we know Him.

Add to that a reflection I’ve been having about religion’s disciplines.  As Matthew West’s song states, I don’t wanna go through the motions.  If someone asked me why I follow Christ Jesus, without giving me the opportunity to tell them what I believe–only why–what would I say?  Society might expect me to answer “to get to heaven,” “it’s my religion, leave me alone,” or perhaps something else.  I want to ask other people what they think, not so I could pass judgment on their beliefs…I am far from a just judge and will happily leave that to our creator, but because I think we lose sight of the Hope we claim to have.  Anyway, as I sat in my blue chair drifting off, I was not able to come to complete sentence conclusions.  A list might serve my purpose for now.

I do know that journaling has merit in digesting scripture, processing what I read and conversing with God there, as one would in a letter.  The Bible is, after all, a letter.  My good friend wrote to me in a letter about a speaker who suggested journaling as a conversation with God.  Asking questions, sharing news and thoughts.  I like it.

My thoughts are scattered.  I am really looking forward to church tomorrow.  I might even go to two services–not that I need to go to be more holy–that comes from God alone.

One thought on “noises

  1. Beverly

    I enjoyed reading your thoughts on following Christ, the Bible as a letter, and journaling good deeds, not to ‘show off’ but to remind us to do more. Thanks for sharing ….

    Reply

Leave a Reply

