Free At Last

Freedom Is Here

The future comes alive
You speak Your word and I
I’m running into Your hope
Because I’ve seen Your light
You bring my world to life
I’m coming after You love

I’m not shaken
I’m not letting go

And everything comes alive
In my life as we lift You higher
Let Your freedom arise
In our lives as we lift You up
Sing it out
Sing it out
Your freedom is here

So take the limits off
No matter what the cost
I’m running after Your call
And I will run this race
See You face to face
So let Your power overflow

I will not fear
I will not hide You love
You love
All of my life
I cannot deny Your love
Your love

I was making coffee today and the slavery to sin was heavy on my mind.  I’ve been absolutely chained to one or two areas (manifested in innumerable examples of bitterness and anger…the opposite of the love to which we are called) of sin and the thought occurred to me that I could really relinquish that to Jesus and abolish the slavery by His power.  So I asked for it.  I don’t know if my heart was “in a different place” or if I had finally acknowledged my need to give up, but I gave it up and felt the bondage totally lift.  The song above was in my head shortly after that (by Hillsong…I didn’t write it!) and it’s been stuck ever since.

In Romans 6, Paul talks a ton about slavery to sin and to righteousness, and I haven’t had my quiet time yet so I can’t tell you that I’ve chewed on this chunk or rolled it around for a while, but I’m going to include it anyway.

(v.15)What then? Shall we sin because we are not under law but under grace? By no means! 16Don’t you know that when you offer yourselves to someone to obey him as slaves, you are slaves to the one whom you obey—whether you are slaves to sin, which leads to death, or to obedience, which leads to righteousness? 17But thanks be to God that, though you used to be slaves to sin, you wholeheartedly obeyed the form of teaching to which you were entrusted. 18You have been set free from sin and have become slaves to righteousness.

I’ve been set free, and it’s beautiful.

I also had some of the best leftovers a girl ever had for lunch, too.  I got to take part in a super sweet meal with a family from Cornerstone last night, and I was blessed to be in a household of people who love the Lord and live like it.  Not to say I haven’t been in houses like that before, it’s just something that you can’t really get enough of.  Kind of like the meal we had.  Not even sure what it was called (besides it being from Senegal), but it was excellent yesterday and today.  What’s not to love about caramelized onions though? 🙂

Get outside and enjoy the sunshine.  If we get off a little early today, that’s what I hope to do (although I have some serious need for the completion of Perspectives homework o.O).  Peace 🙂

Leave a Reply

