an ode to harlan’s

Harlan’s, thank you.

You are my local store.

You carry a surprising variety of food.

For instance:

hummus (well, you did once)

ravioli (maybe you could get the cheese kind?)

a fancy spinach, artichoke hearts, and parmesan dip (which I bought today and which expired yesterday).

and the staples like bread, cheese, milk, and frozen dinners.

except I don’t buy your frozen dinners (sorry).

Don’t let me forget the quick-sale items (like the solid whipping cream I bought for 50 cents–that’s butter!).

I don’t mean to come across as complaining,

because I think you’re really great.

Your clerks are nice and helpful

and you sell ripe bananas at reduced prices (hello, banana bread!)

It was really a pleasure to return to your aisles again

after a long absence.

I’m not really sure how you come up with your prices,

but today I noticed the better economy of buying the bigger  box of wheat thins.

That made me feel smart.

I suspect you did that so I would feel smart.

So thanks for that.

I hope you stay in business for a long time.

You’re swell.

Leave a Reply

