candle burning time of year.

I wake up early.

I go to bed later and later.

I’m burning the candles at both ends.  My happiness is not adversely affected, mind you.  My hours of wakefulness are just slightly less so.  If drinking coffee were simpler at school, I’d totally do it (and a lot more often).  The drive home is admittedly long.

And yet when I finally get a moment to sit and not think about school I waffle between thinking about school and not.  I sit at my desk or in this case a chair and half-heartedly search what I was going to search or write what I was going to write while wishing I was cool enough to have it together during my “down” time as well as my “on” time.

You probably can’t see the correct time because wordpress thinks I’m in a strange timezone, but it’s 10:20.  I have an early rehearsal tomorrow, so I’m headed out by 6:30…waking up at 5:15 means yikes.  I’m logging off and picking out clothes for tomorrow (Yay, last dress up day…then Friday jeans day!).

You know how God’s word is sharper than any double edged sword?  Check out proverbs 13:4…

4 The soul of the sluggard craves and gets nothing,
while the soul of the diligent is richly supplied.

That hit me this morning.  What I loved especially about it was that the soul of the sluggard craves nothing and gets nothing. It’s totally true, folks.  I am your example.  When I’m lazy as all get out (we’re talking habitually so) and don’t want to spend time before the sun gets up with God, I lose that craving for the life-giving stuff that richly supplies my days when I am diligent.  A dear friend of mine used to say if she missed a day of Quiet time, she noticed, and if she missed 2 or 3 days, her family noticed (and then so on with friends and coworkers).  One day is the tipping point…gotta keep that to a nil.  At least I do.  I suspect I’m not an exception.

But all this to say…goodnight!

Leave a Reply

