brick house

I had a first year teaching mentoring class tonight and it was pointed out that first year teachers don’t make a lot of time for life outside of school.  I don’t know about that, but I would say it rings true for the house hunt.

I’m all systems go for finding a humble abode in I-town…minus finding the time to find one.  I guess that’s what realtors are for, right?

I have been toying around with the possibility of a real house…a “single family house”, in fact.  Mowing.  Shoveling.  Maintaining.  (ugh, right?).  Privacy.  Re-sale-ability.  A yard.  Character.  A basement (which, in a town that flooded a bit this summer, is not necessarily so good).  Real kitchens.  Dining rooms.  Sigh.

The trouble is, it’s late at night with an early morning to follow and I am able to look at (when Internet is cooperative…good tonight so far) vague write-ups and minimal pictures for lots of places.   I want to be able to drop in and take a look around and see the trouble spots and the lovely parts without wading through scheduling appointments (both for the owner and for myself)…but such is not the way of adult transactions.

In other news, Matt Chandler of The Village has been gracing my iPod as of late.  Splendor.

I missed my turn to Highway 69 from 65 this morning.  I blame lack of coffee and said splendorous podcast. 🙂  I went a mile out of my way and turned around.  Okay, 2 miles if you count the coming back. 🙂

Had my first coffee at Uncommon grounds too (Hopefully they’ll nix the Sumatra next time I go…blech).  Not bad for a Sumatra.

Much love, and Colossians 4:2-6.  Go read it.

One thought on “brick house

  1. Eric Crawford

    It’s ok, there is never a good Sumatra. If you ever find a place that sells Sulawesi, buy it. It’s a wild tasting dark roast!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

