fa la la la la

Deck the halls walls

I decked the walls of my apartment this weekend with picture frames.  Oh what fun, too.  I put fabric in the frames in coordinating shades of green, red, yellow, and brown.  I felt rather Trading Spaces, except I wasn’t actually trading anyone.  Go figure.  My computer doesn’t have an SD card reader at school, so you’ll have to be patient until I put it on a USB (temporarily mia) or gain Internet access at my apartment.  Soon and very soon.

I got a letter in my school mailbox supposedly from Jesus.  I was a little skeptical about his choice of font for his Christmas letter :).  But in all seriousness it was a well-intended “Jesus is the Reason for the Season” message that was meant to inspire some basic Biblical living (like being kind, loving, and compassionate) in a commercialized season.  I was tracking along, wondering who planted the letter in my box (and did everybody get one?) until the 10th point of “Jesus’ Christmas wish list”…

Finally, if you want to make a statement about your belief in and loyalty to Me, then behave like a Christian.  Don’t do things in secret that you wouldn’t do in My presence.  Let people know by your actions that you are one of mine.

I don’t intend to rip on the well-meaning actual author of this note (and for all I know it’s a sentimental forward that someone copied and pasted onto letterhead from their inbox), but religious vocab hang-ups stuck out to me like crazy.  Behave like a Christian.  Christians fail…they sin, they goof up.  Their standard is weak compared to His.  So let’s not take advice from “Jesus” to behave like Christians because I’m pretty sure he’d suggest instead that we behave like Him.  Don’t do things in secret that You wouldn’t do in My presence.  This neglects the presence of Jesus with us being unchanging, by His Spirit.  Which is a really sweet, and tragically neglected aspect of the relationship we have with Him.  Our sin, whether we conceive it to be secret or not is committed in His presence.  Which is why it stinks even more, because we aren’t fooling him that we’re taking his grace for granted when we sin…we’re just trying to fool ourselves.  If you want to make a statement… this definitely could have included some words on actually making a statement.  I listened to a sermon about Colossians from Matt Chandler which criticized the adage about sharing the gospel, using words if necessary.  Words are kind of necessary…otherwise you might just be an abnormally kind person who goes out of their way to meet needs…instead of someone whose life has been radically changed by a Creator who cares enough to know and save them.  I’m starting to get a feeling for not wasting opportunities to use words to accompany actions.  Yes, we must walk as Christ did, but he walked and talked (and His active, living word is available to us!).

Besides that I can’t recall why I actually wanted to post.  Totally slipped my mind.  Bummer, dude.  I’ll scrach my head and think about it…

Peace!

Leave a Reply

