done. now what?

1/4 cup of dough baked at 350 for 15-18 minutes. Perfecto.

My life’s objective has been met. Just kidding, but after years of terrible chocolate chip cookies, I have finally produced some that are objects of worth and pride. I would not apologize to serve these to anyone, and I even enjoy them warm (I often do not care for warm chocolate chip cookies…too much like eating dough). Some conversations and help from K prompted me to add flour and baking time while reducing temperature and quantity. So, rather than 18 dozen teeny tiny greasy and unsatisfactory cookies, I have 18 monsters that are both a bit crispy on the outside and soft in the middle. Perfectly uniformly circular, golden brown. Something to sink your teeth into.

I’m packing up and heading east for a couple days (a whole 2 hours away…not a big trip, but I’m excited to see some folks), and in the meantime have noticed a fly crawling up my screen door. Very odd. I also read Psalms 142 and 143 and found myself in wonderment in the psalmist’s articulating emotion that I’ve known.

I went to school about 10 minutes after I woke up this morning because I had a nightmare about a program. Kindergarten was the programmed group (which doesn’t happen in our district, so it wasn’t a prophecy…whew!) and I didn’t have the barred instruments ready to go. I spent more than an hour back stage looking for the instruments and trying to get them ready before giving up. When I returned to the stage (which was in a garage), disgruntled parents were almost all gone and the few remaining were straggling out. My family was there and they were so embarrassed to have a connection to me…and they’d had to deal with the crowd. I decided to go to school to do some work right after I woke up…kind of “fixing” the problem. My heart was racing!! I returned after an hour and a half or so to a nice pot of coffee and a scone. The remainder of the scones hit my freezer; why on earth does anyone need to make 12 scones at once? They are half as good the second day…not to mention the third and fourth. You can’t really eat more than one at a sitting, either. I hope they reheat well. I have something like 8 or 9 left.

My last pan of cookies is about to come out of the oven, so I should clean up here and hit the trail. Have a great rest of Monday!!

Leave a Reply

