cuppa things

heh. In most settings, I am a grammar advocate, but in written conversation with K, we both slack off a bit. My subject line made me think of that, but the “cuppa” is actually referring to the tea that I’ve been enjoying from the teapot I posted about earlier. It’s fantastic. You should probably have a teapot of your own…it has multiple cups of tea ready for consumption (without having to get up and heat more water or pull down another tea bag and wait for it to steep). Delicious and refreshing.

Tonight I got to help with a band contest at our local middle school; it was a 6th and 7th grade solo contest. If you know much about me, you know that it was my 7th grade year that my life path was first determined. Sure I’d thrown around being a teacher, and a vet, and a figure skater, and an opera singer, in no particular order, but that was the event that changed my mind for good…at least through my junior year of college when it shifted slightly (and it might shift back, you never know).

If you don’t know, let me fill you in on the details (if you were K, I might try “deets”, instead of details)…I had an early morning solo time in 7th grade and was determined to get the best of center award. It was practically meant to be. I had practiced my solo a lot, was getting some musicality out of it (I came to find out later that it was not a solo normally assigned, but a gal in my lesson asked to play it because her mom had way back when)…anyway, that award was going to be mine because those folks got to play at the concert in the spring. I was probably cutely nervous (not adorable…just the kind of nervousness that as an adult I can say “you’re cute” because so many unfounded “what ifs” come up in the moments preceding the performance) and went in to my center to play for my parents and undoubtedly some center-squatters who were waiting for their kid to perform soon.

Everything was going fine until somewhere about halfway through the second page when my eyes skipped their line and I freaked. I could not get back in, I lost my spot and my composure: I cried. My gracious pianist (and dear friend and band director) and the judge encouraged me to pick up from where I’d left off, and though I left defeated, I did finish the piece without any more memorable botches.

Fully expecting to get a dreaded II rating (at which point my thoughts turned to ending my musical career for a while), I noticed on the ratings sheet that I had received the I+ rating instead. I was elated, but confused and expecting the disappointing blow of an error to be proven by the ballot. The following Monday when reading the ballot, the words at the bottom in the comments section were the golden, life-changing words that melted my heart and defined my purpose:

Humans make mistakes, but the recovery is the most important part, and you recovered well!

The life and encouragement that filled me with these words is hands-down what turned me to teaching music. I decided from that moment on to be that voice of encouragement and life for someone else down the road. My diversion now may be only temporarily (I miss band enough, to be sure, to want to go for it eventually), but I still have the joy of teaching music and its life applications daily.

the logo for music in our schools month (march)

On another note, I painted a banner based on this logo freehand for my

program THIS coming Tuesday. I did it on green paper with white tempera paint (had no idea the second “e” was in that word until I read the bottle’s label), to look like a chalkboard.

Leave a Reply

