interception, operatic absence, brown butter popcorn

I went on a run (#2, week 5) today and because it’s junk week in I-town (free hauling of stuff) spotted a short shelf that I had to have…but since I saw it at the beginning of my run decided to trust that it would be available in 20 minutes when I returned. Would you believe that a blue pickup truck turned into the driveway of the house with the shelf as I was crossing the driveway to look at the shelf? I couldn’t very well grab the shelf and run. At first I held my breath because he went for some planter pots first, but looking over my shoulder as I crossed the street, he stashed the shelves too. Well, dang.

I noticed, upon my return, that the trailer that was parked right outside of the door when I left my apartment building was more full than it had been. I’d been contemplating ways to ask them if they needed help unloading or unpacking, hoping to meet new neighbors…but the more-full trailer led me to conclude people were moving out. I noticed that the second floor door was propped open, and it turns out my delightful quiet (yet operatic singing) downstairs neighbors are moving out. That’s kind of a bummer, though not bad timing; last night I heard the non-operatic husband singing in the bathroom and thought “it’s weird to hear people in the bathroom”.

Sitting down to do some work at my computer I decided to make some popcorn and tea (which is definitely over steeped by now…oops…good thing it’s Good Earth and it never gets bitter). I put the butter in the microwave and mindlessly pushed the 30-second button 3 times. I melted 1 Tablespoon of butter for 85 seconds before it clicked that that was way too much time. The butter browned. I fixed the problem by adding salt and sugar to the popcorn, so as to make a carmel-ish kettle corn. It was pleasant enough. Snappy popcorn makes the largest popcorn kernals, fo sho. They explode from my air popper with SUCH force that I am left to be a bit afraid sometimes!

I found margarine in my freezer today! Who knew it was in there? Not me! Score :).

I had so much fun last night. SO MUCH. I remember why moving here was so tough (that’s not fun)…good people reside in Ames, Iowa. I have no doubt that good people reside in this place, too, they just don’t happen to all know me and show up at the restaurant I erroneously go to in order to meet “other” people. I’m looking forward to the next two weekends with such people, in their stomping grounds :).

Peace to you!

Patty

Leave a Reply

