20

I was twenty once. You know what’s funny though? It doesn’t feel like I’m much older than that now. I guess in the grander scheme of things, I’m not…but the 20 is for the days of teaching left in my first year.

I know, right? Crazy, shortly over, and within reach.

So much of the unknowns I carried through college and even last year as a YMT were taken care of this year. I don’t have it figured out (hey, there’s still 20 days left, you know), but I don’t have to wonder if I’ll be able to come up with program material, teach songs, teach rhythms, make music fun, keep it from being fun (not on purpose…), handle working and paying bills and such. Full time teaching eludes me still, but I imagine it to be much like part time, but longer. And not even that much longer.

My big accomplishment over the weekend (while at home for Easter) was learning how to cut up a whole chicken. My dad, master with a chicken, coached me through it. Learning by experience is the total best. Raw chickens are so…floppy and heavy and kind of gross…but he got me through it. I think that I will likely buy one soon JUST so I can reinforce those skillz. And someday impress my friends. Or my children. Or just myself :).

Tonight for dinner I’m going for some Cornish pasties and tea in honor of a story on NPR’s Morning Edition this morning. I am really digging their talk programs lately, and the story about Cornwall was SUCH an anticipated delight that I made sure I waited to do my hair/pack my lunch until after it played so that I didn’t miss it. You can listen here.

I hope that you have a lovely evening and that wherever you are it’s warm and sunny like it’s supposed to be in April…I know, April showers blah blah blah, but it’s feeling like February showers. I’m thankful that the apartment has managed to stay warm, though I haven’t had the heat on (and my generous-with-heat neighbors have moved out). Peace to you!

Leave a Reply

