Teacher Appreciation Week

I heard about this on a blog and didn’t quite know what to expect. Turns out, it’s timed very strategically at the beginning of May. I’m thinking a teacher had that idea. There’s something about a little pick-me-up apple in my mailbox, or muffins and coffee to start the day that says: this isn’t for nothing…hang in there. 🙂 Rest assured, I know that my job isn’t for nothing because fine educators crossed my path and inspired me to growth, but the reminders are helpful. And appreciated. Even seeing a sign in Burger King that read: “If you can read this, thank a teacher” encouraged me.

I had my final concert of the year tonight, and due to unforeseen circumstances was active in all four numbers. Ladies and gentlemen, I accompanied a chorus of voices at a public performance on piano. This is big stuff for a gal who hasn’t played piano much publicly. I fudged just a bit at a page turn (I wasn’t turning pages, but my eyes went to the wrong spot as I panicked that the page wouldn’t turn…though I knew it would. Hard to explain), but the rest was pretty accurate. This is a whoop and a holler for being on the way to better piano playing. Whoop, holler, done.

Speaking of appreciating teaching, I’m so appreciative of the study organized in Equip the People. I told you about it in an earlier post – the minor prophets. Going through some of the cross references today was AWESOME. I encountered some things I hear in church lingo in a chunk of Isaiah and Jeremiah. These are things that I’ve read in the context of the books, but never together…it was sweet!

Now I’m holding my horses for a bit until my roommate returns. I think I might buy some ice cream :D. And fruit, and such (though lunch is provided for TAW tomorrow…hehe).

Grace to you, and Peace from God the Father and the Lord Jesus Christ!

Leave a Reply

