waft

I remember learning vocabulary in high school sometimes. Sitting at my coffee table (having just tried for about 20 minutes to pay a bill online that refuses to be paid because I can’t answer the secret question I set up when I registered the account…argh), a bunch of flowers G picked are wafting. Except wafting is supposed to be a pleasant smell, and while this isn’t foul, it’s not sitting well with my nose. If I were determining weeds versus flowers, I’d base it on smell. These, though pretty would fit in weeds because they have an obnoxious, strong scent. Again, not bad, but too much.

I’m reading SUCH a great book. I can’t wait to recommend it right here…except I will wait because I want to reveal it to K by giving it to her, building the anticipation and suspense ever more (especially as she reads this). It’s a true story, which is the best part. This girl doesn’t read many non-fiction books, besides the Bible, of course. Naturally I feel ever-so-much smarter for having a NF book to recommend to you and everyone else…soon.

I got cracking on a big project for gathering folksongs and analyzing them. Pretty soon comes the hairy stuff…as in, I’m moving past pentatones and Major tone sets. Have I lost you? If so, breathe with ease…I have a limited amount of skill in analyzing folksongs because I have been trained up to a certain point in the organizational schema of folksong analysis. Perhaps next summer (and many hours and dollars later) I will be caught up to another point of analysis. Let us hope.

What I can’t get over is how fulfilling the extra work made by the Kodaly class is. I suppose I could have pulled the plug and waited on some of these things until breaks and time to think and digest, but I’m hitting the ground running. Will I have it all figured out? Oh no. Nobie, nobie. Not even in a few years like this would I hope to have it mostly figured out…but by then I won’t be learning how to do all the other school stuff (remembering which forms to fill out, when to fill them out, who to give them to and such and such and so and so). Right now that, classroom procedures and management, even names of new students (it’s uncanny how similar some of the new students look…not even related. As a twin, correct identification holds some significance, but I’m struggling). In the meantime, I’m able to work, able to walk home (!), able to smile at school and have fun with students.

Assessments are a-comin’…we’ll see how well I’m doing then!

I was reading through Galatians in preparation for a Bible Study this fall this morning and found myself nodding and saying “yep, mmhmm, yes, totally” in agreement, but had to stop short when I realized I agreed with something that I didn’t understand enough to apply. My application to date has been agreeing with it, but the text is pushing for more action.

But I say, walk by the Spirit, and you will not gratify the desires of the flesh.
(Galatians 5:16 ESV)
If we live by the Spirit, let us also keep in step with the Spirit.
(Galatians 5:25 ESV)

Walking by the Spirit and living by the Spirit…even keeping in step with the Spirit. I have been “mmhmm-ing” for a long time, but am meditating on the difference between behavior modification and living by the Spirit. My undisclosed book recommendation has been providing me a pretty good example, I think. I believe it will boil down to relationship and its effect on how I perceive people, places, events, even God’s call. I’m kind of prone to behavior modification, so I am praying that God will keep me from missing His point of teaching.

And now to knit. That was my sole plan and objective for the evening, and its nearly gotten completely away.

I hope your flower arrangement smells prettier than it looks. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

