refreshment, jitters, teatime, socks.

Refreshment: today. For the first time, professional development was encouraging. Last year I had no idea what was going on, so felt even worse about it when I was with people who did. This year, I am not in much better standing in the knowing what is going on scheme, but I know something and I found encouragement in and among my peers. Woohoo! Not to mention some chill time tonight that has helped my 2nd cold to calm down. 2 colds in 2 weeks is not my friend. Rest is.

Tomorrow is picture day. Why does a teacher feel the jitters the night before? I don’t know. You tell me. I don’t think this is outright anxiety (no fasting and praying about this), but as I’ve been doing my hair this week and picking clothes for work, I’ve been kind of leading up to tomorrow, saving the right outfit and hair style so as not to repeat (repeat within the weak and repeat last year’s…I no longer have growth and new outfits to mark the new year’s picture as I did in school 🙂 ).

Teatime: chai. This weather has been SOOOO nice. I love it. I love the crisp air, the quality of light, the smells. It’s not quite leaf-changing weather, but it’s pretty close. Love that!

I’ve been knitting sock #2 like crazy since Saturday. Part of that was inspired by a staff member approaching me about teaching some knitting lessons. It’s like they got into my head and pulled out my concealed longing and posed it as a question. I consented before I found out the details like when and what and for whom. I love to teach knitting. It’s glorious. I have a month and a half to get a plan. Hooray!

I really need to get my head in the game for my upcoming program. I’m thinking Move Over Rover and My Many Colored Days (books that have elements which change in them…Rover encounters (I think) other animals…Many Colored Days depicts moods and emotions through colors and animals…more song and movement opportunities. I think I’ll take a patriotic twist for the upper grades in April. We shall see.

On the first early out of the year (late at night), this is Patty, over and out.

Leave a Reply

