finite

I realize finite is a word. I was hoping for the Spanish pronunciation (fin-eat-ay!) to proclaim that I have finished two projects in one night!

The first, pics to come, is a scarf that I began knitting in England…yep, more than 2 years ago. It’s a Noro scarf (not silk garden…the wool/acrylic sock yarn), so the colorway is gradual, and somehow symmetrical (almost). It’s purples, greens, and grays. I didn’t realize there was black and gray in the colorway until I started knitting and it showed up (but purple and green were kind of my colors at the time, following RLBC’s Kingdom Come theme and staff shirts).

I also cast on and finished a coaster (wool) while watching a sermon. From start to finish (with a quick refreshment break) it was a 75 minute project. It’s probably not quite big enough to felt, so I’ll go with hefty mug rug. Pattern:

Worsted weight wool (or go for the gold with cotton…or whatevs. Go with something worsted for absorbency. Sport or doubled fingering/sock might work, too).

Size 5 (? not sure. 4mm) needles of any variety.

Cast on 50 stitches.
Rows 1 and 2: knit 23, ssk, knit to end
Rows 3 and 4: knit 22, ssk, knit to end
Rows 5 and 6: knit 21, ssk, knit to end

and so on, until you end up with 2 stitches.

I especially enjoy slipping the first stitch of any garter-stitch work because it greatly improves the quality of the edge. You could stripe it up or solid color. I did a border with yarn I am almost out of and then just did a block of gray for the rest. Go wild.

I received word that a yarn order I made is on its way, so I have additional motivation to free up some needles.

Happy almost Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

