a spark of innovation

Don’t mind me…I’ve just “discovered” a trick that bakers have likely been using as long as butter has been sold in waxed paper wrappers.

My pound cake recipe called for 2 sticks of butter plus some to butter the pan. I was on my way to opening to door to the fridge for stick #3 when I spied an empty wrapper on the counter with some butter still in it, discarded in haste when combining ingredients. It was perfect for spreading butter on the cake pan (already softened, of course).

If you’ve been doing that for a long time, I wonder why you didn’t mention it sooner. 🙂 No worries, though. You can make it up to me by sharing every bit of kitchen knowledge you’ve accumulated in your life. Ready, go.

Leave a Reply

