vacay…

Tonight I was craving a vacation. It’s the most wonderful time of the year…program time (happens twice in a year, actually)…and I am to the max with thoughts about staging, logistics, my schedule outside of the program rehearsals, everything. BLECH. My hope tonight was to knit and kind of put on hold the stuff occupying my mind, but I knit too far on the sock I’m making so I have to take out a bit and redo (not fun when you are 4 rows from finishing to entire thing) to make it smaller. DRAT. I definitely know the agony of too-big socks, so I won’t let this one go. I have my collegiate roommate to thank for knitting conscientiousness, and in case that doesn’t sound grateful, I am truly. The quality of the process is certainly worth a lot to me, but the quality of the product holds some significance, too :).

Today was also my first opportunity to look at the All State workshop line-up. I am pretty pumped to check out some of the sessions in particular. Lillie Feierabend is doing a session about teaching The Nutcracker. That’s a required unit in third grade by our district music standards and benchmarks, so ideas to make it even more engaging and fun are most welcome by me. I’m also a bit torn in a couple of the timeslots as to what I should attend. It will be a very full, not relaxed weekend, but followed by a three day week for Thanksgiving. I think I will rebound :).

It was really sweet to do some rounds of visiting this past weekend. I saw some family and dear friends in Ames, then headed to Iowa City. Stopping at West Music, Java House, and Parkview Church were extremely great (and made me nostalgic for the days of yesteryear when I was a student…sigh). It was sweet that the speaker for the Missions Conference at PV spoke from the scripture I intentionally meditated on last week. If I haven’t said it before, God is redundant in what He teaches me…and if I have, I’m also redundant :).

I believe it’s raining and has been for most of the evening. I have the sliding glass door because it was warm in here–78 before I started cooking dinner (I broiled some hurry-up Chicken Yakatori…not bad, though not quite like the slower version). That feels good. I don’t know if our apartment being too warm will be a problem for much longer (especially when our temperatures dip down and don’t come up so much as they have been), but it’s something I won’t be complaining about anytime soon :). Just glad for the difference cracking a window makes!

Bed time, fo sho. Hope your Tuesday’s excellent!

Leave a Reply

