Pass the tissues?

I just finished watching Courageous with G. Um…you name the emotion, it was present. To the max. I think I cried for 45 minutes straight at one point. And then it wrapped up with happier tears towards the end. But seriously. I was a mess of tears and snot and the annoying spit that shows up out of nowhere when you cry like that. Now I’m totally chapped. 🙂

I like that the movie was made in an effort to emphasize and teach what the Bible has to say about fatherhood. I found the over-done comic relief to be overly relieving :)…it was full of heavy ups and downs. Utterly predictable and yet good to the core. I missed hearing some of the “many times in scripture” Fatherhood is addressed…but I suppose they are all in the book that likely accompanies the movie like the Love Dare did for Fireproof (I have not read that…).

Today I had a workshop for music education (I’ve been grumbling and complaining, but wouldn’t you know that Philippians 2:14 was on my memorization chunk for today, which says:

Do all things without grumbling or questioning, that you may be blameless and innocent, children of God without blemish in the midst of a crooked and twisted generation, among whom you shine as lights in the world.

 Verse 15 goes on to talk more about Paul’s involvement with the addressees (all the saints in Christ Jesus who are at Philippi with the overseers and deacons…so the church there) and how he hopes that in the day of Christ he will not have run or labored in vain with these people. But grumbling…questioning…those are everyday for me. What is there to talk about in the hallways besides that, right? I am expert in eliciting empathy and sympathy from people in common circumstances. I am challenged here to not do that.

Anyway, long story short, the workshop was okay. I got some more materials and some ideas with materials I already had, and got to have lunch with 2 of my music ed peeps from our district. It’s amazing how much younger the college students are getting these days :). The things which are so funny to them…aren’t funny to the whole group. I’m glad that they have camaraderie and can jest at their failings and struggles now, but I do hope that they are similarly encouraged in the field. I am ever more determined to grow in patience and musicianship for the sake of the hundreds of students who cross my threshold because I don’t want my own struggles to hold them back.

Philosophical for a Saturday night? Perhaps. I’ve got cookies to wait on and recovering from cryfest 2012 (Thank You dramatic movie) means lots of stewin’ on the couch (albeit a non-comfortable one).

In other news…I still think YOU should open a coffee shop in I-town. I will be your best customer. I will invite everyone I know to hang out and drink delicious coffee there. I will even be an employee. Anything. Today was a day for coffee shops and I just couldn’t go to the one here. I’ll show it to you if you come and “let” you decide on your own, but it needs serious help. Mostly in ambiance, but also in menu. (is this grumbling? Oh no! I meant to encourage you to go into business).

Besides that, I’m looking forward to FINALLY going to Zumba. It’s been more than a week. I’m getting antsy for physical activity, as it’s been too cold to enjoy much walking this week. If it’s going to be this cold, we should probably have more snow…just saying. Looking forward to worship very much as well tomorrow!

Patty

Leave a Reply

