STEAK.

I bought a clearanced steak at HyVee the other night after a prayer meeting, with a big dose of hunter’s satisfaction (it was marked down to $3.00 a pound from $9.00 a pound)…but getting it home realized that I don’t really know what to do with a cut of meat like that. The one other occasion that I personally selected and purchased steak it was not on sale, and it was for a roasted soup, so I bought a not very expensive cut. But this was…a T-bone! (it might not be that exquisite, but I don’t remember ever eating them as a kid…so it’s better than a hot dog! 😉 ).

It sat in my fridge last night because I didn’t make time for cooking an elaborate dinner then, but tonight I decided to cook it and turn it into a steak salad with asparagus on the side (side note, this is my favorite time of year because daffodils, strawberries, and asparagus are bountiful and inexpensive). This is a very simple meal to make when my dad grills the steaks…I just tear up lettuce and cut up the toppings…he takes care of cooking the meat. I don’t have a grill and he’s not here…so I had to figure it out.

After looking at a couple recipes I decided to go with one that asked me to sear it on both sides before “roasting” it in a 375 degree oven. I was skeptical about the high heat (I reserve that setting of my stove top for boiling water, which tends to not burst into flames…), but I did it anyway. The roasting took a little longer than the recipe said, but the thermometer I got for Christmas confirmed it’s medium-rareness without having to cut into it prematurely. It was perfect. 

So, though it was a big apprehension in the kitchen, I worked through it and really enjoyed the success. The roasted/broiled asparagus was also amazing, but I can’t really take credit for that innovation, as I learned it firsthand from a friend.

Now for a little sock-knitting. peace!

Leave a Reply

