Taxes

I probably shouldn’t get too excited just now, but I filled out the long form with the schedule A for itemized deductions on my state return, and it was a beautiful revelation of a much lower still-owe number than this weekend’s work produced. I intend to double check it (and show it to the tax-pro in my life), but I am much relieved. To quote a smart guy, “Organization can save you a lot in the end.” True that.

I made fish and chips for dinner. Except the breading burned to the bottom of the pan on the second side of the fish (sad face). And it was really bland. I used cod…and tried to improvise “beer batter” by dipping the fillets in guiness before putting the crumbs on. It was not successful in my mind because it was so bland. I might look into that more for next time.

Also, last night was our honor choir concert. It went very well–the rehearsals get a little long (and the kids a little wound up), but a great time was had by all. I was really surprised to hear from so many adults about it today. That was rewarding. I also was given a flower by one of the participants and her family. That was pretty sweet–if kindergarten hadn’t been in the room, I might have welled up. Instead I kind of gaped like a fish and thought of the first words of gratitude that I could come up with. It’s a lovely sunflower-impersonating flower…possibly a gerbera daisy? The middle is slightly black with yellow around it. The stem is too flimsy to stand up in its tall vase so it’s reinforced with wire. I love it, needless to say.

I don’t have a whole lot else to share because my bathroom-cleaning-procrastination has got to end.

Leave a Reply

