20 miles, a turtle, and wind in my face

It was a long day. It’s the end of the year, so it wasn’t a difficult teaching day (a full day today, but the kiddos were pretty chill with some last-minute unit work that required videos (didn’t feel like wasting a whole class period earlier in the quarter). I had some reminders of yesterday that stung at the eyes a bit, too, but lots of encouragement. Perhaps in including others in all of this before my letdown I am able to see just who is lifting me up–very encouraging.

I decided to skeedaddle home a little early (thank you, 80% contract)…which was only 30 minutes, and I immediately headed out on a bike ride. I took the new wheels out (which are still inflated! Hooray!) with the new helmet and made my way to our fabulous bike trail. It’s not fun to cross either highway between me and the trail, but I did it without too much waiting or danger.

I was really plagued with wind…and all the bugs it put in my eyes. There were the cotton-seed fluffies all around too. My throat and skin felt very itchy by the time I’d been going for a while. I rode past Summerset about 3 miles before turning back. On the way back I stopped a couple times for water and found a painted turtle just hanging out by a rock. I asked a passerby if he’d seen it (we’d passed going the opposite directions minutes earlier). He hadn’t but replied it was cool…and at that moment I noticed the puddle where the turtle had been. I scared a turtle today!

I was enchanted by the birds I saw, too. The most vibrant blue birds were all along the trail…I’m not sure what they were (maybe a bluebird…but I didn’t think they lived around here…maybe I’m wrong). There was also a cat sitting by a bridge much like the knight without arms and legs in Monty Python and the Holy Grail. The cat was missing a paw and an ear. The way it looked at me made me think of Monty Python right away 🙂

All in all, I went more than 20 miles and my knees are on fire…the uphill return trip was a real treat. Hope to get all the way to Carlisle next time! 🙂

Peace to you!

Leave a Reply

