barriers

I just took a 3.2 mile run. I walked for about 3 blocks (so, 2.9). I am writing this post BECAUSE of those three blocks. I didn’t stop because my legs were falling off or my breath was out of control (ha, it probably was, but my headphones blocked that out), but instead a mental barrier that told me I couldn’t possibly go on. It happened at the farthest point on my route (I did a down and back, essentially, even stuck to the one I planned…thinking that it was 4 miles instead of 3 though). 

Part of the barrier might have had to do with it being the morning. Or worries about how I was feeling.

But after those three blocks I felt ok and I didn’t stop again until I got home. How do I avoid the mid-run agony? 

My 5K pace is not so hot at the moment. I know I’m just getting back in it, but I don’t know how to pick up the pace (see above…the barriers…killer!).

Now to shower and knit some applied-i-cord like it’s my job. With coffee and dishes in the mix. 🙂

Leave a Reply

