now that the world stopped

Whew. It hasn’t even been a week of vacation yet…and I’m crazy relaxed. Today I struggled to get out of bed, even. Not for the usual “I don’t want to get up and do ______ today” but instead “I don’t know what I’m going to do today” kept me there. Could it be that I’m a little bored? Ha. It’s days like this that will make starting up again in July less bad.

The past four summers at this time I was at staff training at camp, with just about every minute scheduled. I miss camp a lot this summer. It’s weird to read facebook stati (ha, right? statuses?) from counselors I know who are going there today. Take me with you! And yet…I’m ok, too. I am living in one place at a time (though I’m relocating for a blissful month with mi hermana next week), and I’m dreaming and planning for the school year to come.

I was reminded of a passage with a lot of promises in it by a friend of mine this week, which got me in the book of Jeremiah, and I found a verse that I’ve been looking for in the past couple months (I had put it up in my coffee cupboard in my old apartment, but must have discarded it in the move). My friend’s passage:

And they shall be my people, and I will be their God. I will give them one heart and one way, that they may fear me forever, for their own good and the good of their children after them. I will make with them an everlasting covenant, that I will not turn away from doing good to them. And I will put the fear of me in their hearts, that they may not turn from me. I will rejoice in doing them good, and I will plant them in this land in faithfulness, with all my heart and all my soul.
(Jeremiah 32:38-41 ESV)

And the one it prompted me to find:

But seek the welfare of the city where I have sent you into exile, and pray to the LORD on its behalf, for in its welfare you will find your welfare.
(Jeremiah 29:7 ESV)

I used to feel a bit like an exile here. There are twinges (like when I remember camp or taste the sweetness of the fellowship I have in Ames/Minnesota friends and family) of that feeling still, but I feel like the former passage is more of what I’m living out these days. I get to see and share that God is doing good continually, even through some first-hand disappointments. These “lazy, hazy days of summer” are perfect for ruminating on the promises of God and putting my hope for the future there

Besides all that, I think today calls for a bike ride, knitting, and some leftovers-in-my-fridge consumption. And if I’m particularly ambitious, I’ll get to that laundry, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

