Chicken Yakitori

My grandma Pat was a pretty amazing woman. Now that I’m an adult I really wish that I could reuse some of the time I had with her before she was gone.

One of the most special things that I have from her now is her handwriting. She usually wrote with ink pens in a neat, print and cursive hybrid and she was a great story teller in writing. I was able to get a few recipes of her copied from my mom when I left for college, and though I appreciated their instructions, tonight while making her chicken yakitori recipe, I got to enjoy her handwriting, too.

Although I haven’t seen it on menus at restaurants or heard of other people making it, I did a quick google search and discovered it’s not so rare as I imagined. The ingredient list is pretty simple, too. And as it happens, my other grandma really likes it (enough that she mentioned it in a recent visit). I made a batch tonight hoping to share some with her tomorrow. Here’s the recipe card, don’t mind the photocopied soy sauce stains:

IMG_2914.jpg

You’ll notice some of my mom’s handwriting too, in some of the parenthesis. I made a few changes tonight:

1 tsp onion powder
1/2-1 tsp minced garlic
1/4 c. soy sauce
2 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp vegetable oil
1 tsp sugar
(no salt)
1/2 tsp (ish) ginger
1/8 tsp pepper
3 split bone-in chicken breasts, deboned and cut into 1″-2″ pieces.

In the past I’ve added some chili paste and fresh ginger, but I didn’t want to make it too spicy this time. I did happen to eat it with rice and sriracha for dinner tonight. I broiled the pieces, flipping halfway and measuring the temperature when both sides were pretty brown. I agree that it would make great kebobs with onions, cherry tomatoes, and pineapple and I might try it this summer. Some stir fried vegetables would go well, too.

Perhaps I’ll share one of my grandma Mary’s recipes sometime soon. She’s sent me a lot of excellent baking recipes (she excels at baking, among other things). Until then, lots more knitting, quilting, and gradual organization projects.

Leave a Reply

