Getting Sentimental

I don’t think I’ve ever hesitated to welcome summer as much as this year. I just spent a few free moments reviewing class lists and thinking about next year and how much I love my students and look forward to seeing them in new classes and glanced out the window at some 2nd graders lining up from their recess. I’m not ready to be finished yet.

This is a weird spot to be in. I readily admit that some students and classes aren’t as easy to teach. Sometimes they’re not nice to each other or to me, and that’s usually part of why the break sounds like such a good idea. But this time I’ve crossed into some new territory where I just stinking love these kids and suspect I’ll feel a gap without them. We aren’t done making magic in the music room, you know?

I think I’m also crossing into a less introverted stage of life as well. Although I love my home, the idea of bumming around home all summer isn’t as novel as it has been. I suppose last year I was still reveling in the lack of grad school classes (a truly liberating feeling), but this year it’s a little less exciting. I’ll still pack my summer with projects, exercise, sleeping in, and time with people, but I’m not really holding my breath for it.

Before you think I’m an amazing teacher or not telling you the whole story, I should probably add that my body is responding as it usually does to the end of the year. I’m extra lethargic in the morning and most of my self-discipline to get up and going early in the morning is hard to come by. That means I’m also kind of grumbly about getting out the door, but once I’m at school, I’m good. Packing lunches, choosing an outfit, getting ready–not fun. School, much better!

Have a lovely, finally sunny day!

Leave a Reply

